Social Media Meltdown

Funny-eCard-A-bunch-of-my-friends-are-coming-over-to-play-on-their-phones

Sorry for the lack of posts, I had to take a little break ……..

Facebook….myspace…..google+…..instagram……linkedin…..blogging…..tumbler…..pinterest……youtube…..twitter…..HOW THE HELL DO PEOPLE KEEP UP WITH ALL OF THIS STUFF???!!! Seriously! Between sorting through photos, random FB updates, e-mails, and you know, my actual life in the real world……I am a little overwhelmed. Look, don’t get me wrong. I’m not judging. There are a lot of really great things about computers, technology, and social media if it’s used in the right way and for the right reasons. It’s a really fast and convenient means of sharing information and staying in touch with people. I know a lot of people that have thriving businesses and careers, and a large part of that has to do with utilizing all of this social media stuff.

Sure, there are some times where I lay around with facebook open and watch everyone’s news feed scroll by……kind of like when/if you have cable, and you don’t know what to watch because there are too many choices, so you just put the preview channel on and let it run for hours without really making any kind of decision or commitment. I guess my main point is- social media is great for a lot of things…..however, real and genuine human interaction is NOT one of them. It’s hard enough for me to see a lot of my friends as it is, with all the work-stuff, kid-stuff, family-stuff, and other stuff we all have going on.

Do you remember that episode of Sex and the City, where the dude breaks up with Carrie on a post-it note?  That also popped into my head the other day. Kind of the same thing- a watered down, secondary form of communication. Sometimes it’s “easier” to interact with someone via e-mail or text (or post-it) instead of actually talking to them in person. What I’m saying is- iphones, emails, facebook, and all this stuff is cool. But as with everything in life, it’s important to find some kind of happy middle ground. What does it matter how many followers you have on twitter, or how popular your you-tube videos are, if the real relationships you have in life are suffering?

I’m not going to cancel my FB page or throw my phone in the trash. And I’m not telling you to, either. But maybe…. think about disconnecting….. in order to re-connect……

