Home is where the heart is….

I grew up in a very small town called Myersville,  right outside of Frederick, MD. My parents built (and still live in) a log house that sits atop of Gambrill Park Mountain. When I say small, I really mean it…..we’re talking acres of forest, deer, gravel roads, etc. When I was a kid, I couldn’t wait to move far away to a big city, where I thought everything would be bigger, better, more exciting. I lived in Baltimore and Washington DC for years after high school, and now Miami…..while the urban lifestyle is most certainly bigger, it’s not necessarily  always better or more exciting. I gotta say, I really love coming back to visit my parents in their log house on the mountain. It is so quiet, beautiful, and peaceful. I guess sometimes you have to move away from things to be able to come back and appreciate them more……

